Wireless Broadband repeater

Post Reply
User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 21 Jun 2013, 11:17

I think this has been mentioned before.
Wireless repeaters.
Friend of mine has wireless router in one room. It basically dose not transmit to the next room. To be fair where they have it place it is surrounded by wires and electrical bits all screening the Aerial.
So suggested wireless repeater.
I have never used one before so thought I had better try one before advocating them.
Would not belive the range they extend your signal.
If i was to move outside I could get little or no signal.
I can now sit at the top of the garden surfing the web no problem.
all for £13. What a bargain.
The instructions are a little intimidating for a non techy type but read them slowly and no probs I would have thought.
Just thought I would pass it on.
Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
Eileen
Posts: 16739
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 17:42
Location: Essex

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Eileen » 21 Jun 2013, 11:49

Thanks Graham,
A good piece of information. I sometimes have a problem here in that our laptop will not work in the kitchen. I shall certainly try one.
Image

Genos and S970.

User avatar
seawolf
Posts: 6360
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 20:43

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by seawolf » 21 Jun 2013, 13:50

Graham, where do you place the repeater ??

Tom
every time I think, I think I think a thought

I used to be indecisive, now I'm not so sure
.

I'm a self made man. I just used shoddy materials.

If at first you don't succeed, Don't try SKYDIVING


Image

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 21 Jun 2013, 14:08

Hi Tom. In my conservatory I get a very poor signal so I put it in a socket in there. It is next to the Garden as well. It gives my 100% in the conservatory now and about 50% at the top of the garden that is I guess about 100' away. No point sticking next to the router. I am amazed how it picks up the signal and boost it.
I think it is a case of trying it round the house sockets for best performance.
Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
geoff
Posts: 4730
Joined: 24 Aug 2012, 21:30
Location: Herefordshire

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by geoff » 21 Jun 2013, 23:19

Where would you purchase these Graham, local shops ( Currie's etc. ) or internet.

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 22 Jun 2013, 06:04

If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
geoff
Posts: 4730
Joined: 24 Aug 2012, 21:30
Location: Herefordshire

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by geoff » 22 Jun 2013, 12:42

Have just been in my coservatory, and couldn't pick up signal, so I will be ordering one
Thank you Graham for this info. ;)

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 22 Jun 2013, 14:38

Hope it works for You Geoff. Did for me.

Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 23 Jun 2013, 08:16

When setting up the repater it clones itself to your main router that is password protected. So when you use your repeater it uses the same password and like your router it conects you automatically. Any one outside would need the password. So. No wories.

Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 20 Jul 2013, 14:25

A bit more info.
My wireless reapeter is fine. Only real drawback is download speed but web surfing is fine but dont expect to stream movies.
So I thought I would try some of those mains adapter jobies recomended by BT The Powerline range of network adapters using your house wiring.
Yes they work and download speed fine. but any more than 30' of house wiring and the throughput is zilch. Try using it in my garden shed, no use at all. All the hype I was expexting fantastic performance.
Any one else used them with any similar problems
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

kwbmusic
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 07:02

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by kwbmusic » 12 Aug 2013, 09:12

I used a D-Link repeater and discovered an iPhone App that made the setup a simple process.
Keith

User avatar
Eileen
Posts: 16739
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 17:42
Location: Essex

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Eileen » 12 Aug 2013, 10:39

We have gone with an access point. Run a cable from the existing Modem to the access point that you place where you can get a good signal all round and it dose not slow anything down.
Image

Genos and S970.

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 12 Aug 2013, 13:12

What access point do you use Eileen. The one I have gives me a good signal any where I need it but the download speed is low. But I only paid about £14 off Ebay. Not disapointed because it dose allow me to surf the web where ever but not good enough to stream say a movie. I have run Cat5 cable to some points but not feasable every where and certainly not up the garden.

Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
Eileen
Posts: 16739
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 17:42
Location: Essex

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Eileen » 12 Aug 2013, 14:00

Hi Graham,
We are using a Dray Tec. Our speed is only around two at the best of times. We could get a signal at the bottom of the garden but it would not go through the two walls to my lounge in the bungalow. We use a cat5e cable from the original modem to the access point and now I can use it anywhere in the bungalow without problems.
Image

Genos and S970.

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Wireless Broadband repeater

Post by Graham from Derby » 12 Aug 2013, 14:17

You can actuallyget 2mps through the point. That is good most of the cheaper ones are down to 200 kbs Just enough to surf with

Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest