Computer Problem

Post Reply
User avatar
seawolf
Posts: 6243
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 20:43

Computer Problem

Post by seawolf » 08 Sep 2013, 14:51

Hi All/

Yesterday my computer refused to boot.
It came up with the usual error about the NTLDR.
I went into the bios, and saw that while all components
were listed, they were enclosed in,[ ] square brackets,
which means they are disabled.
I have tried the usual methods of clearing cmoss ( remove battery
swap the cmoss jumper) all to no avail, is there a remedy for this
or is it something more drastic.

Tom
every time I think, I think I think a thought

I used to be indecisive, now I'm not so sure
.

I'm a self made man. I just used shoddy materials.

If at first you don't succeed, Don't try SKYDIVING


Image

User avatar
Deane
Posts: 255
Joined: 24 Sep 2012, 16:15
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Computer Problem

Post by Deane » 08 Sep 2013, 15:51

Tom,
I had the same exact problem and the only cure I found was to format the hard drive
and reinstall the operating system. I have always installed my Operating Systems on a
separate partition so I did not lose any data. If you have a bootable CD or a floppy disk
you might try repairing the partition - that didn't work for me though. Wish I had better new for you.

Deane

User avatar
seawolf
Posts: 6243
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 20:43

Re: Computer Problem

Post by seawolf » 08 Sep 2013, 17:05

Thanks Deane, the problem is that whilst I can "see" the HDD, it is disabled and therefore I can't access it to read it or write to it.

As EVERYTHING in the bios is disabled I am unable to alter any settings or access any discs or memory sticks.

Tom
every time I think, I think I think a thought

I used to be indecisive, now I'm not so sure
.

I'm a self made man. I just used shoddy materials.

If at first you don't succeed, Don't try SKYDIVING


Image

User avatar
Roland
Posts: 740
Joined: 30 Dec 2012, 18:37
Location: Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Computer Problem

Post by Roland » 08 Sep 2013, 17:08

Hello Tom,

This is the NT loader which is needed to boot Windows. One can get that message if the boot sequence is out of order - meaning that the file is for example on a hard disk, but your boot order is first from CD and then from hard disk. Or the files have just gone bad - you would then recover them from the installation disk. Here is a link that talks about that in a bit more detail http://pcsupport.about.com/od/findbyerr ... singxp.htm. There are also some YouTube movies about how to fix the problem - generally they simply take the Windows Install CD and run the repair option.

Hope that helps.

Cheers, Roland
Tyros 3, Motif XF8, Cubase
​I've finally discovered what's wrong with my brain: On the left side there is nothing right, and on the right side there is nothing left :D

User avatar
seawolf
Posts: 6243
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 20:43

Re: Computer Problem

Post by seawolf » 08 Sep 2013, 19:52

Hi Roland, thanks for your interest and suggestions, the problem is that because everything is disabled in the bios,
whilst the discs are shown, something has disabled them therefore they do not get to the Windows boot stage, and therefore
as the disc (or any other media) is not" seen" I cannot use any media to try any repair.
the problem seems to lie in the bios or the motherboard, both of which are new.

Thanks
Tom
every time I think, I think I think a thought

I used to be indecisive, now I'm not so sure
.

I'm a self made man. I just used shoddy materials.

If at first you don't succeed, Don't try SKYDIVING


Image

User avatar
Roland
Posts: 740
Joined: 30 Dec 2012, 18:37
Location: Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Computer Problem

Post by Roland » 08 Sep 2013, 20:48

I guess in that case it might be best if you take it back to the vendor or ask him if he could help through his support channel.

Cheers, Roland
Tyros 3, Motif XF8, Cubase
​I've finally discovered what's wrong with my brain: On the left side there is nothing right, and on the right side there is nothing left :D

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Computer Problem

Post by Graham from Derby » 09 Sep 2013, 08:49

Hi Tom Try removing and replacing Memory. Sometimes they do not alkways seat properly. But as you said it was new MB etc it may be MB fault
Seems strange you can get into Bios but nothing else. Also in Bios it dose give you the function of reseting the Bios.
Wish I lived closer, could have poped round and given you the benefit of my experience.
Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
seawolf
Posts: 6243
Joined: 22 Aug 2012, 20:43

Re: Computer Problem

Post by seawolf » 09 Sep 2013, 22:08

Hi All, Thank you for all your help, the problem is now solved and I am up and running.
I formatted my new hard disk which had my new installation of Win 7. but somehow it had got corrupted by an effort to add a second HDD which did have XP on it.
However the removal of all discs, the format of the one new disc and after replacement it accepted a new installation of Win 7 and I am up and running.
Thanks once again all for your patience and help, I really needed it, as all the failures was getting me down.

Tom
every time I think, I think I think a thought

I used to be indecisive, now I'm not so sure
.

I'm a self made man. I just used shoddy materials.

If at first you don't succeed, Don't try SKYDIVING


Image

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Computer Problem

Post by Graham from Derby » 10 Sep 2013, 07:26

Glad you are up and running. Or as near as you can get at your age :lol:


Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

User avatar
tyrosman
Posts: 1553
Joined: 24 Aug 2012, 20:31
Location: blantyre scotland

Re: Computer Problem

Post by tyrosman » 06 Feb 2014, 18:32

Hi Tom I had the same thing happen to me im now getting a lap top with windows 7
Image

User avatar
Graham from Derby
Posts: 1161
Joined: 21 Aug 2012, 12:35
Location: Derby

Re: Computer Problem

Post by Graham from Derby » 06 Feb 2014, 19:39

Whatever you run. Back up. I inadvertently formatted my second drive last week. I have a program that can search and replace all the formatted files but it takes ages to search and a right pain sorting al the Wheat from the Chaff. But my entire drive was backed up on a spare drive I have.
Another thing.
Malware. This takes down utilities, programs etc and you never know it is coming so I use a freebie called Malwarebytes. You will be amazed how many times it pops up and says blocked a malware attack. It has been a Godsend.
So beware.
Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest