Is a Apple/Mac pc a wise move?.

Geordielad

Is a Apple/Mac pc a wise move?.

Post by Geordielad » 14 Feb 2014, 10:47

My steam driven laptop PC is getting a bit slow and as I'm very impressed with the iPad I received for Christmas,
I am thinking about getting a Apple PC, and I am looking for advice.
Can you get audacity, boxnet, soundcloud to work on the Mac/iOS system?.
Can you get all these to work on the iPad ?.
Will Yamaha expansion manager work, I think I've seen it won't on a mac, only on windows?.
Does Microsoft office word/excel work?
Is it necessary to have anti virus program for iPad/PC?
I realize it's a lot of questions I will appreciate any information.
My present laptop runs on vista.
Best wishes, Bill.

Eileen

Re: Is a Apple/Mac pc a wise move?.

Post by Eileen » 14 Feb 2014, 12:15

Hi Bill,
You can run Box, Sound Cloud and Audacity on Mac. At present the Yamaha expansion Manager will not work for Mac.
I have been using Ipad for a few months. My intention was to use it for my music and keep me in touch with the forum when away.
So far I have found it a right pain in the butt for some things. I have the best of both worlds and have a normal PC running windows 7, 64 bit. For everyday use I find it suits me much better.
Maybe a member on here runs Mac and can help you further and tell you what advantage it will give you if any.

Tyros 5 and S970.

Fred

Post by Fred » 14 Feb 2014, 12:15

Hi Bill

I have an Apple machine and I really like it. However there are some limitations.

Can you get audacity, boxnet, soundcloud to work on the Mac/iOS system?. ----- I could not get Audacity to work on my machine, although to be honest I did not try very hard.
Can you get all these to work on the iPad ?. ----- I did not try Audacity but all the rest work OK
Will Yamaha expansion manager work, I think I've seen it won't on a mac, only on windows?. -------- For the time being it does not work with a MAC but will do very shortly.