How do I STEP RECORD in 6/8 time.

Geordielad

How do I STEP RECORD in 6/8 time.

Post by Geordielad » 01 Apr 2014, 10:33

Hello, does anyone have any ideas about step recording notes in 6/8 time on Tyros keyboards?. I sequence a lot of counter melodies from the music in a lot of my songs, I have no problem step recording when the time is 4/4 or 3/4 using a 4/4 or 3/4 keyboard style, but with 6/8 style, no luck.
Any information would be very appreciated, Bill.

Eileen

Re: How do I STEP RECORD in 6/8 time.

Post by Eileen » 01 Apr 2014, 10:48

Hi Bill,
I am no expert as I have never used step record but 6/8 must be in the family of 3/4 and I would do a little trying out with different value notes here and see what you come up with.

Tyros 5 and S970.

Michael R

Post by Michael R » 01 Apr 2014, 14:08

Hi Bill. I've never used step recording for melodies, only occasionally step recorded a chord sequence. However, a 6/8 is not really related to 3/4 but rather 2/4 but with two dotted crotchets or six quavers in groups of three, but with the feel of two beats in a bar. However, Yamaha (and I think perhaps most other keyboards) don't give the option of true 6/8 styles. There are 6/8 styles but they use a 4/4 time signature so one bar of the style is really two bars of 6/8. So to step record, I suppose you would have to set your notes as 4 sets of triplets within a bar of a 4/4 style? Sorry if this is not very clear. Maybe someone like Andy G might do a better job of explaining it!

Michael
Tyros5-76, Fender Precision bass, Orange Bass Amp.

Geordielad

Post by Geordielad » 04 Apr 2014, 08:37

Hello Eileen and Micheal, thank you both for your thoughts on my problem and I will certainly give them a try.
I emailed Yamaha to see if any they could help and I enclose their reply, which I don't understand, as I am already using a 6/8 style (schlager 6/8).

My email to Yamaha.