Piano Music

Little Jo

Piano Music

Post by Little Jo » 29 Apr 2014, 15:27

I am a frustrated musician, who looks at the books in our shop and when i look at all the Piano Music (ONLY PIANO), I really wish they could add the chords. I know I can read both clefs, but I have become lazy and prefer reading Chord Symbols. Also when you actually look at keyboard music, it really isn't inspiring for people who can play advanced level and getting hold of Organ Music, is near impossible. I truly wish Music Companies, would do this. Just thought I would share that with you.
Little Jo :?

Graham from Derby

Re: Piano Music

Post by Graham from Derby » 29 Apr 2014, 16:22

On a similar theme I was looking for a piece of music sung by Cliff Richard. You are to young to remember this one Jo.
The Next Time from Summer Holiday. Could only find it with Base Clef added. It did have chord notes printed so OK. But I find reading music with Base Clef line I get lost. I can not read Base line. So I have to Photo copy it. Cut the Base line out then stick it all together and re photo copy to get just Treble Clef line with chords above. I agree with Jo. the sheet music industry needs to look more into what newer players need.

Graham
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried

geoff

Post by geoff » 29 Apr 2014, 21:54

That's what I do Graham. I find the bass clef annoying, distracting and of no use to me at all.
I usually end up with just one sheet of music which is helpful.

Eileen

Post by Eileen » 30 Apr 2014, 00:19

I think an awful lot of us just use Top Line and Chord music. I was in to much of a hurry to play music that I never learnt Bass Clef.
Some of this music can be very basic but I find adding a few different chords can spice it up a bit.

Tyros 5 and S970.

Graham from Derby

Post by Graham from Derby » 30 Apr 2014, 08:24